Revolution Slider Error: Slider with ID: 12 Not Found


The NRMA, KPMG, Capgemini and the Boston Consulting Group are among some of this year’s top employers announced at this year’s Australian LGBTQ Inclusion Awards held in Sydney today.

For the second year in a row, information technology services and consulting company Capgemini Australia was named ‘Employer of the Year’, while global consulting firm Boston Consulting Group was announced ‘Small Employer of the Year’.

Other top honours went to organisations including Accenture, EY Oceania, Clayton Utz, PwC and RMIT University who all received high tiered ranking for LGBTQ inclusion. The NRMA and Investa Property Group received awards for most improved, and KPMG was recognised with Employee Network of the Year.

Held at the Hyatt Regency, the event is Australia’s foremost annual celebration of LGBTQ workplace inclusion. It is hosted by ACON’s Pride Inclusion Programs, the national not-for-profit LGBTQ inclusion support program for employers, sporting organisations and service providers.

The awards are based on the results of the Australian Workplace Equality Index (AWEI) – which is now in its twelfth year. The AWEI is a rigorous and evidence-based benchmarking tool that annually assesses workplaces in the progress and impact of LGBTQ inclusion initiatives.

By participating in the AWEI and accompanying employee survey, employers can benchmark their practice against other organisations and obtain annual data on the impact initiatives are having on their employees.

Dawn Emsen-Hough, Director of ACON’s Pride Inclusion Programs, said she was proud to see employers around the country continue to commit themselves to improving LGBTQ inclusion practice despite issues that are continuing to have an impact globally.

“Over the past year, we have seen remarkable growth and improvements in workplace diversity and inclusion practices. As the effect of the pandemic continues to be felt by everyone, as well as issues facing global economies, it’s incredibly encouraging to see workplaces in Australia continue to remain dedicated and committed to greater inclusion of our LGBTQ communities,” Emsen-Hough said.

“As we continue to make progress in this area, it’s important that efforts are acknowledged and celebrated, and that we continue to build upon all the amazing achievements being made.”

In 2022, 172 organisations participated in the AWEI and a survey attached to the index received 44,953 responses from 181 organisations – the highest it has ever received.

Emsen-Hough added: “Year upon year, we are seeing record numbers of employers across all sectors participating in the indices, and 2022 is no different. The employee survey that accompanied the AWEI provides us with a great insight into workplace attitudes towards diversity and inclusion.

“Congratulations to all the award recipients announced today, including those the receiving Bronze, Silver, Gold and Platinum Employer status. I congratulate them all on their impressive achievements and for showing leadership in LGBTQ inclusion.

“There is so much amazing work being done by countless organisations across the country in making Australia a more inclusive place for everyone, and every year we are so proud that these awards can provide an insight into, and highlight, these achievements.”

Click here to download a PDF version of this media release.

Click here to download a PDF version of the 2022 Awards Results booklet (version 4 updated 1/8/2022)

For more information on ACON’s Pride Inclusion Programs, go to

Winners from the Australian Workplace Equality Index

Employer of the YearCapgemini Australia
Platinum Employers Accenture
AGL Energy
Australian Taxation Office
Capgemini Australia
Clayton Utz
Deloitte Australia
EY Oceania
QBE Insurance
RMIT University
Woolworths Group

Gold EmployersAustralian Broadcasting Corporation (ABC)
Capgemini Australia
Deloitte Australia
Queensland Department of Education
Fujitsu Australia
IBM Australia
Macquarie University
nbn co
Origin Energy
QBE Insurance
Services Australia
The Star Entertainment Group
University of New South Wales
University of Queensland
University of Sydney
Silver EmployersAlcoa of Australia
American Express Australia
Department of Agriculture, Water and the Environment
Department of Education & Training Victoria
Australian Government Department of Health
DLA Piper Australia
Grant Thornton Australia
Griffith University
JP Morgan
Monash University
Norton Rose Fulbright
Scentre Group
Victoria University
Zurich Financial Services Australia
Bronze EmployersAllens
Australian Securities & Investments Commission (ASIC)
Charles Sturt University
Charter Hall
Australian Government Department Home Affairs and the Australian Border Force
Australian Government Department of Prime Minister & Cabinet
Australian Government Department of Social Services
Dexus Holdings
Domain Group
Edith Cowan University
Energy Queensland
Hollard Insurance
Jacobs Australia
John Holland
Life Without Barriers
Mercer Australia
NSW Police Force
SAP Australia
Settlement Services International
TPG Telecom
Treasury Wine Estates
University of Melbourne
University of Western Australia
University of Wollongong
Westpac Banking Corporation
Most Improved Employer NRMA (152% improvement)
Small Employer of the YearBoston Consulting Group
Small Platinum Employers Deutsche Bank, Australia
Small Employer GoldBoston Consulting Group
Colin Biggers & Paisley Lawyers
The GPT Group
Russell Kennedy Lawyers

Small Employer SilverMcCullough Robertson Lawyers
Clifford Chance
Small Employer BronzeLiberty Financial Group
Gilead Sciences
Oliver Wyman
Initiative Media
American Express Global Business Travel
The Northern Trust
Allen & Overy
Most Improved Small Employer Investa Property Group (115% Improvement)

Individual Awards Categories –  Winners

CEO of the YearDavid Anderson - Australian Broadcasting Corporation (ABC)
Executive Leadership Assistant Commissioner Gelina Talbot - NSW Police Force
External Media CampaignAustralian Broadcasting Corporation (ABC) - ABC Innies + Outies podcast
Network Leader of the YearBenjamin Vella - Stockland
Out Role Model Kim Lee - National Australia Bank
Sally Webster AllyJanani D'Silva - Capgemini Australia
Sapphire Inspire Alicea Stoney - KPMG

Jenny Ratsep - EnergyAustralia
Employee Network of the Year Pride @ KPMG
Trans/Gender Diverse Inclusion Capgemini Australia

Click here to download the AWEI2022 Benchmarking Tables (updated 09/08/2022).

AWEI Mailing List

Keep up to date with all the latest notifications, including tips, reminders and press releases by joining our AWEI Mailing List.
Click here to register.

For more information on the AWEI and Australian LGBTQ Inclusion Awards event, please contact the Pride in Diversity office on (02) 9206 2139 or at

For more information on ACON’s Pride Inclusion Programs, go to

*LGBTQ – Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender and Queer