Revolution Slider Error: Slider with ID: 12 Not Found


The ABC, information technology services and consulting company Capgemini, and community support agency Advance Diversity Services are among this year’s top employers and service providers announced at this year’s Australian LGBTQ Inclusion Awards held in Sydney.

Capgemini was named ‘Employer of the Year’ for the first time, while management consulting company Oliver Wyman was announced ‘Small Employer of the Year’. Network of Alcohol and other Drugs Agencies (NADA), which is NSW’s peak organisation for non-government alcohol and other drugs services, was named ‘Service Provider of the Year’.

Other top honours went organisations including Dentons, Deutsche Bank, IBM, Woolworths, Coles, the University of NSW and Deloitte, who all received high tiered ranking for LGBTQ inclusion. The ABC was named ‘Most Improved’ and also took out the ‘External Media Campaign’ award. (NB: Full list of award recipients and finalists below.)

Held at the Hyatt Regency, the sold-out event is Australia’s foremost annual celebration of LGBTQ workplace inclusion. It is hosted by ACON’s Pride Inclusion Programs, the national not-for-profit LGBTQ inclusion support program for employers, sporting organisations and service providers.

The awards are based on the results of the Australian Workplace Equality Index (AWEI) – which is now in its eleventh year – and the third Health + Wellbeing Equality Index (HWEI). The AWEI and HWEI are rigorous and evidence-based benchmarking tools that annually assesses workplaces in the progress and impact of LGBTQ inclusion initiatives.

By participating in the AWEI and accompanying employee survey, employers are able to benchmark their practice against other organisations and obtain annual data on the impact initiatives are having on their employees.

Dawn Emsen-Hough, Director of ACON’s Pride Inclusion Programs, said she was proud to see the indices continue to achieve record growth and participation following a year that saw a lot of difficulty and uncertainty.

“Over the past year, we have seen incredible advancements in workplace diversity and inclusion despite turmoil we all experienced on a global scale. It’s incredibly encouraging to see workplaces in Australia continue to remain dedicated and stride towards greater inclusion of our LGBTQ communities,” Emsen-Hough said.

“As we continue to progress, it’s vital that efforts are acknowledged and celebrated, and that we continue to maintain and build upon our achievements.”

The AWEI saw a record 186 organisations across Australia participate this year, and an employee survey attached to the index received 44,915 responses, the highest it has ever received. In its inaugural survey, the HWEI saw over 700 responses from 24 organisations/service providers.

Emsen-Hough added: “Once again, we have record numbers of employers across all sectors participating in the indices. The employee survey that accompanied the AWEI, and for the first time, the HWEI, provides us with a great insight into workplace attitudes towards diversity and inclusion.

“Congratulations to all the award recipients announced today, including those the receiving Bronze, Silver, Gold and Platinum Employer status, as well as those that received organisational awards. I commend all of them on their significant achievements and for showing great leadership in LGBTQ inclusion.”

“These awards truly give us an insight into the amazing breadth of work being done by so many in making organisations across Australia more inclusive of LGBTQ people and communities.”

Click here to download a PDF version of this media release.

Click here to download a PDF version of the 2021 Awards Results booklet.

For more information on ACON’s Pride Inclusion Programs, go to

Winners from the Australian Workplace Equality Index

Employer of the YearCapgemini
Platinum Employers (Long Term Gold Employers)Accenture
Macquarie Bank
Platinum ProjectsClayton Utz
RMIT University
Platinum Qualifiers for 2020AGL Energy
Australian Taxation Office
Woolworths Group
Gold EmployersAustralian Broadcasting Corporation (ABC)
AGL Energy
Australian Taxation Office
J.P. Morgan
QBE Insurance
Queensland Department of Education
(SBS) Special Broadcasting Service
Scentre Group
Services Australia
The University of Sydney
The University of New South Wales (UNSW)
Woolworths Group
Silver EmployersAurecon
Department of Education & Training Victoria
DLA Piper
Hollard Insurance
Macquarie University
Norton Rose Fulbright
Origin Energy
The Star Entertainment Group
The University of Queensland
Victoria Police
Bronze EmployersAlcoa
Baker McKenzie
Charles Sturt University
Department of Health
Department of Home Affairs
Department of Industry, Innovation & Science
Department of Social Services
Department of Agriculture, Water & the Environment
Edith Cowan University
Energy Queensland
Fujitsu Australia
Grant Thornton
Griffith University
John Holland
Life Without Barriers
Queensland Health (Department of Health)
SAP Australia
Settlement Services International
The University of Melbourne
The University of Western Australia
The University of Wollongong
Victoria University
Victorian Department of Environment, Land, Water and Planning
Most Improved Employer Australian Broadcasting Corporation (ABC)
Small Employer of the YearOliver Wyman
Small Employer GoldClifford Chance
Colin Biggers & Paisley Lawyers
Deutsche Bank
McCullough Robertson Lawyers
Oliver Wyman
Small Employer SilverADSSI
Boston Consulting Group
Clifford Chance
Initiative Media
Small Employer BronzeAllen & Overy
Aussie Broadband
Key Assets - The Children's Service Provider
Keypath Education
Liberty Financial
Northern Trust
Pinsent Masons
Russell Kennedy Lawyers
The GPT Group
Most Improved Small Employer Liberty Financial

Winners from the Health + Wellbeing Equality Index

Service Provider of the YearNetwork of Alcohol and other Drugs Agencies (NADA)
Gold Service ProvidersAdvance Diversity Services
Network of Alcohol and other Drugs Agencies (NADA)

Silver Service ProvidersMedibank
Uniting Vic.Tas
Bronze Service ProvidersFlourish Australia
Relationships Australia NSW
Most Improved Service Provider of the YearNurseWatch

Individual Awards Categories – Finalists and Winners

Employee Network of the Year Winners:
Trans/Gender Diverse Inclusion Winner:
CEO of the YearWinner:
Katrina Troughton – IBM
Executive Leadership Winners:
Guy Brent – Woolworths Group
Christine Corbett – AGL Energy
External Media CampaignWinner:
ABCQueer - Australian Broadcasting Corporation (ABC)
Network Leader of the YearWinners:
Gina Mills – EY

Alan Wong – Boston Consulting Group
Wayne Marshall – Capgemini
Lisa Wade – NAB
Out Role Model Winner:
Steph Sands – Capgemini

Clinton Savage – Aussie Broadband
Abigail Clark – IBM
Gordon Williams – MinterEllison
Daniele Gianotti – The University of Sydney
Sapphire Inspire Winner:
Nic Hennessy – Woolworths Group
Sally Webster Ally AwardWinner:
Drew Bradford – NAB

Click here to download the AWEI2021 Benchmarking Tables.

AWEI Mailing List

Keep up to date with all the latest notifications, including tips, reminders and press releases by joining our AWEI Mailing List.
Click here to register.

For more information on the AWEI and Australian LGBTQ Inclusion Awards event, please contact the Pride in Diversity office on (02) 9206 2139 or at

For more information on ACON’s Pride Inclusion Programs, go to

*LGBTQ – Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender and Queer