2020 LGBTQ Inclusion Awards Results

Home»2020 LGBTQ Inclusion Awards Results


Technology and design tertiary institution RMIT University, law firm Dentons and community support agency Advance Diversity Services are among this year’s top employers and service providers for LGBTQ inclusion in Australia.

At a preliminary awards announcement for the 2020 Australian LGBTQ Inclusion Awards held online earlier today, RMIT was named ‘Employer of the Year’ – for the second year in a row – while Dentons was announced ‘Small Employer of the Year’. Advance Diversity Services, which provide support services to culturally and linguistically diverse communities, wasnamed ‘Service Provider of the Year’.

Other top honours went to Commonwealth Bank, PwC Australia and University of Western Australia, which all received the highest tiered ranking for LGBTQ inclusion. Engineering group John Holland named ‘Most Improved’.

The 2020 Australian LGBTQ Inclusion Awards is Australia’s leading annual celebration of LGBTQ workplace inclusion. It is hosted by ACON’s Pride Inclusion Programs, the national not-for-profit LGBTQ inclusion support program for employers,sporting organisations and service providers. Usually held in May, this year’s event is being held on 19 October 2020 at the Hyatt Regency in Sydney.

The awards are based on the results of the Australian Workplace Equality Index (AWEI) – which is now in its tenth year –and the second Health + Wellbeing Equality Index (HWEI). The AWEI and HWEI are rigorous and evidence-based benchmarking tools that annually assesses workplaces in the progress and impact of LGBTQ inclusion initiatives.

Dawn Hough, Director of ACON’s Pride Inclusion Programs, said she was excited to have been able to share the initial results of the indices and the wonderful achievements of various organisations in LGBTQ inclusion. “This year marks an important milestone for the AWEI, as it celebrates its tenth anniversary. Over the past decade, we have seen incredible advancements in workplace diversity and inclusion. As we progress further, it remains critical that not only efforts are acknowledged and congratulated, but pressure continues to be applied to maintain and build upon what has been achieved,” Hough said.

“Once again, we have record numbers of employers across all sectors and states participating in the indices. The employee survey that accompanied the AWEI elicited an incredible response, which underscores the importance of LGBTQ inclusion in the workplace.

“Congratulations to all the recipients of the tiered awards announced today, including those the received Bronze, Silver, Gold and Platinum status, as well as those that received organisational awards. I commend all of them on their significant achievements and for showing great leadership in LGBTQ inclusion.”

Hough said she looked forward to unveiling the recipients of the individual awards at the luncheon in October, which will hosted by SBS World News presenter Ricardo Gonçalves, feature The Voice 2016 winner Alfie Arcuri and be attended by business leaders, diversity advocates and HR professionals representing a wide variety of industries, sectors and employer sizes.

“Today’s announcement of the finalists of the individual awards gives us an insight into the amazing breadth of work being done by so many in making organisations across Australia more inclusive of LGBTQ people and communities. I look forward to celebrating their achievements at the 2020 Australian LGBTQ Inclusion Awards,” Hough said.

Employer of the YearRMIT University
Platinum Employers (Long Term Gold Employers)Commonwealth Bank
University of Western Australia
Platinum ProjectsAccenture
Macquarie Group
Platinum Qualifiers for 2020Clayton Utz
RMIT University
Gold EmployersAGL Energy
Brisbane City Council
Clayton Utz
Deloitte Australia
Department of Agriculture
J.P. Morgan
Queensland Department of Education
QBE Insurance Australia
RMIT University
University of NSW
Woolworths Group
Silver EmployersAlcoa of Australia
Deakin University
Department of Social Services
DLA Piper
Energy Australia
Hollard Insurance
HSBC Australia
KPMG Australia
Macquarie University
Monash University
NSW Police Force
University of QLD
University of Sydney
Bronze EmployersABC
Australian Federal Police
Australian Taxation Office
Department of Defence
Department Education & Training, Victoria
Department of Health
Department of Health & Human Services, Victoria
Department of Industry, Innovation & Science
Griffith University
John Holland
Services Australia
Settlement Services International
The Star Entertainment Group
University of Wollongong
Victorian Department of Environment, Land Water & Planning
Most Improved Employer John Holland
Small Employer of the YearDentons
Small Employer GoldADSSI Limited
Boston Consulting Group
Clifford Chance
Deutsche Bank
McCullough Robertson Lawyers
Oliver Wyman
Small Employer SilverGilead Sciences
Royal Bank of Canada
Small Employer BronzeAllen & Overy
Key Assets – The Children’s Service Provider
Pinsent Masons
Russell Kennedy Lawyers
The GPT Group
Most Improved Small Employer ADDSI Limited
Employee Network of the Year Finalists:
J.P. Morgan
RMIT University
Trans/Gender Diverse Inclusion Finalists:
Deakin University
RMIT University
Executive Leadership Alicia Albury, Maddocks
Glenn Morgan, Deutsche Bank
Gordon Williams, MinterEllison
Network Leader of the YearFinalists:
Ben Brown, QBE
Mark Sangiuliano, CBRE
Nathan Eastwood, Clifford Chance
Out Role Model Finalists:
Cathy Grassick, Australian Federal Police
Dwayne Mullins, BHP
Steph Sands, Capgemini
Sapphire Inspire Finalists:
Alix Sampson, AGL Enery
Amelia Kondilios, PwC
Meri Machin-Roberts, KPMG
Sally Webster Ally AwardFinalists:
Genevieve Hawkins, Coles
Hannah Wright, Energy Australia
Belinda Young, AGL Energy
Service Provider of the YearAdvance Diversity Services
Gold Service ProvidersAdvance Diversity Services
Uniting NSW.ACT
Silver Service ProvidersFlourish Australia
NADA: Network of Alcohol and Other Drugs Agencies
UnitingCare Qld
Bronze Service ProvidersADSSI Limited
Most Improved Service Provider of the YearADSSI Limited

Click below to download:

2020 AWEI Benchmarking Tables 

AWEI Mailing List

Keep up to date with all the latest notifications, includes tips, reminders, press releases, reminders by joining our AWEI Mailing List.
Click here to register.

For more information on the AWEI and Australian LGBTQ Inclusion Awards event, please contact the Pride in Diversity office on (02) 9206 2139 or at AWEI@prideindiversity.com.au.

For more information on ACON’s Pride Inclusion Programs, go to www.prideinclusionprograms.com.au

*LGBTQ – Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender and Queer